Investor Clinic – Sarah's new to investing & wants to invest £10K

This is our first investor clinic, the aim of the clinic is to allow ordinary investors to get feedback from others. To comment and get involved there
[See the full post at: Investor Clinic – Sarah’s new to investing & wants to invest £10K]

Hi @SarahB

I don’t profess to be an expert in investments, I’m quite new to it too.

I’m sure you will get better feedback from more experienced investors on here than me.

I have got some tips from the articles on here and from their Buy List. Also, I’ve had some tips on other websites like www.MotleyFool.co.uk and from Trustnet Investazine - There’s a link to it in one of the forums on here.

Here’s is what I’ve bought and I’m really pleased with:
Schroder UK Growth trust
Diverse Income Trust
Finsbury Growth & Income
City of London Investment Trust
Henderson Value Trust
Scottish Investment Trust
Scottish Oriental Smaller Companies Trust
Herald Investment Trust

Why do I like them - because they’ve done well or in the case of Henderson value Trust which is a new one I bought I think it will do well.

All the trusts above are tipped on here.

I only Bought Witan last week as well after it was tipped here.

Good luck and I’m sure it help that you are starting so early.

Hi @SarahB

I have been an investor for about 30 years. I wouldn’t call myself an expert but I have have done rather well out of it.

I invest in a mix of investment trusts/shares/funds.

Interestingly, although @MumKnowsBest professes not to be an expert, her suggestions are not bad at all and I wouldn’t disagree with any of them.

What i would suggest however is to buy the areas of the stockmarket which are cheap right now and should do well over your 5-10 year investment horizon.

I’d put more in Asia/Emerging markets, Scottish Oriental is a good call but I would invest in Templeton Emerging Markets too.