Fact - Investment Trusts beat Unit Trusts/OEICs so why is the investment industry resistant to them

We share the latest evidence that reveals yet again that not only do investment trusts outperform open-ended funds, but they do so substantially, and
[See the full post at: Fact - Investment Trusts beat Unit Trusts/OEICs so why is the investment industry resistant to them]

It’s just a sea of red. I think it is just un-bloody-believable.

I have been investing in investment trusts for only the last 18 months or so but when I talk to my mates so many of them just couldn’t tell you what an investment trust is.

I think the Government should be teaching this to kids in schools.

I work in financial services and have jsut been showing the table above to colleagues in my office. Their reaction — they don’t beleive the data!

I have more work to do with them but pretty compelling reasoning to invest in investment trusts IMHO.

The way to eliminate the narrowing of discounts over the past 10 years is to use the NAV total return figures for investment companies rather than share price TR. It would be interesting to see an equivalent table that uses this data. If we assume that the past 10 years’ narrowings will not - or cannot - be repeated then NAV TR might be a better indicator as to how the two fund types might perform relative to each other over the next 10 years if the direction of markets is in a generally upward direction

What would also be interesting to see are the discrete yearly returns of the two fund types. These should show the negative effect of gearing on the NAV of ITs relative to OEICs during down years, and the share-price TR would potentially show the negative effect of widening discounts. I am being a bit of a devil’s advocate here (in case you’re worried!), but I do think that it would be beneficial for investors in ITs to be able to see what could happen in the event that markets were to take on a downward trend for a few years.